Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Many individuals believe that legal requirement about waste management, which should be authorised by the government, is the only effective way in tackling the household waste matter. Personally, Laws are not the only crucial methods,which increase recycling behaviour, since there are other approaches that can also raise citizen's awareness of these consequences Firstly, the environmental problems such as smell pollution or water pollution are the main negative outcomes due to lack of waste management so the government should play an important role in recycling by authorising the laws such as increasing tax on plastic products or on purchasing entire products, punishing households who disobey or ignore the rules and others. For example, In some countries, the government, which taxed on water cans, bottles and other plastic goods, can lessen overall use. Hence, Rules still are needed in many countries as it is an effective way to alter an individual’s behaviour. However, Legislation is not the only solution, offering an incentive to citizens is another way, which also reduces misuse in many households. For instance, Germany successfully increases plastic recycling behaviour by adding bottle recycling machines in many stores, which reward people at reasonable prices. Moreover, the Acknowledgement of misuse,recycling, the environmental matters should be included in the school curriculum in order to gain realisation at a young age. As a result, misuse would be dropped due to an increase in people's awareness and also provides better environmental quality. In conclusion, Although rules make individuals avoid single-use attitudes and actions, some of them still disobey due to lack of attitude so providing residents with an incentive attracts a large number of people in order to solve these issues.