The amount of sport, shown on television every week has increased significantly and this is having an impact on live sport events. Do you think the benefits of having more televised sport are greater than the disadvantages?

Sport has become an inevitable part of many people's lives. Over the recent years, technological progress has enabled individuals from all over the world to watch various sports events without even leaving the house - all you have to do is simply to turn your TV on! However, the convenience of watching the competitions remotely from home has also given rise to a number of negative consequences that one may not be aware of. Nowadays different kinds of sports, from football to figure skating, can be seen on dozens of channels on a daily basis. There are no boundaries between amateurs and professionals, the rich and the poor - every person has an opportunity to get acquainted with the new kind of sport, or, root for their favourite team just sitting in front of the TV screen. It has led to an increase in the number of those interested in sport, which brings more revenues both to the TV companies and to the sports clubs themselves. Despite all the mentioned advantages, the disadvantages of TV sport should also be taken into account. Unlike larger football clubs, the smaller ones do not benefit from TV broadcasting, as they are less popular among the viewers. Moreover, due to the availability of online matches, there are fewer and fewer visitors who come to see them live. As a result, sports clubs suffer from financial losses and have to increase the price of the tickets. In conclusion, with a myriad of matches available on TV, the sport has become a leisure activity that does not require any energy or financial loss. Consequently, the stadiums are almost empty and clubs are struggling for funding. Undoubtedly, these problems need to be addressed and they may be solved by promoting  offline sports events and offering discounts for live matches.