Traditions are about the past and innovation is about the future, and it has been argued that we need to let go of traditions for the sake of progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this? What role should traditions have in our lives? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The pace of change in the world has brought to view some concerns about tradition and novelty. There are those who believe that in order to achieve greater progress it is necessary to leave out the traditional way of seeing things. The purpose of this essay is to discuss why I completely agree with this statement and point out effective means of keeping traditions nowadays. The main reason why I believe that traditions are holding us back is that it is keeping us in our comfort zones. In fact, many unprecedented discoveries in our history were reached when the community were thinking outside the box. To illustrate, there is the invention of cars that occurred when some people were tired of spending hours on horses in order to go from one point to another. In addition, the continued progress, with innovative ways of improving our daily life, can be of tremendous help. For example, many public these days have robots that are able to clean their houses with just one click. However, culture should not be completely left out as they can have important roles to continue the progress. This is because customs can be used to not cross lines for the purpose of achieving something. For instance, many people claim that children these days do not respect their parents as they used to be, although they are being taught to demonstrate more their opinion. Moreover, traditions can be seen as past events and mark how innovations are progressing in our society. Therefore, can have an important mark on our society. In conclusion, I am in total agreement that traditions should be put aside in order to reach bigger conquers in our society in terms of important discoveries and improving our daily routine. However, they can not be completely forgotten as they can remind us what is important and how the world has evolved.