The family has a great influence on children’s development but the influence from outside the home plays a bigger part in children’s life. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that children are more likely to be impacted by the outside world compared with the influence from their family. Personally, I totally concur with this statement because the academic knowledge and social skills they can acquire from the wider community are more significant to their life-time development than what is provided at home. The primary reason supporting my stance is that regarding children’s intellectual development, teachers play a more crucial role than parents do. Teachers are known to have to ability to impart knowledge to children of different subjects. In math classes, for example, students are taught algebra and functions, which exercise children’s logical thinking. Similarly, taking history classes allows children to analyse the causes and effects of historical events, helping them improve their analytical skills and critical-thinking ability. These skills are significant in children’s continuous education and future employment. The majority of parents, however, are not able to do so as they are not experts in such areas, thereby being less influential on children’s further advancement. Another important point I consider is that social skills and collaborative skills, which facilitate children’s future development can, to a larger extent, be cultivated via socialising with peers at school or participating in various activities rather than the interaction with parents. On campus, children may have conflict with their schoolmates, but will gradually understand and learn the way to get along with others if some of their behaviour prevents them from making friends. Meanwhile, there are many activities requiring cooperation, through which children can have an appreciation of teamwork. In contrast, family members shower children with endless love, seldom requiring them to share what they have and always helping them to do everything possible, which is of no benefit to children’s development. In conclusion, I strongly agree that the world outside home weighs more than parents in children’s development. After all, the important factors in children’s growth, including intellectual development, social skills and collaborative skills can mostly be nurtured beyond a family setting.