Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, as cultural globalization keeps increasing, more people are expected to be able to speak a foreign language. Some professionals have been addressing the importance of learning a non-native language earlier in life, which is during primary school instead of secondary school. This essay will cover both the advantages and disadvantages of this idea. Regarding the disadvantages, the main flaw of learning a foreign language very early in life is that it might disrupt children's ability in speaking their own native language. In primary school, children are at the stage where they're still training how to communicate and express their thoughts through words. By adding another language to study, it may affect their learning process. For example, children might face confusion while engaging in daily conversations due to the use of two languages. On the other hand, many people support the view that the advantages are more significant. Children get more time to practice and sharpen their skills if they start learning a non-native language in primary school. In fact, research shows that adults who studied a non-native language since primary school are more fluent and confident in using the language than others who didn't. In addition to that, learning a new language also leads to broader knowledge about different cultures. Taking everything into consideration, the benefits of studying a foreign language earlier in life clearly surpass the drawbacks. Therefore, I believe it would be a great decision if more primary schools provide foreign language classes for their students.