In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced locally. Why people buy imported food? What could be done to encourage people to buy local food?

There is a tremendously argumentative perspective heating up a debate over food consumption. This essay is dedicated to analyzing the reasons behind why people in many countries would rather purchase imported food over domestic ones, followed by some viable solution to encourage people to buy locally produced food. Without a shadow of a doubt, there is a wealth of explanations to account for the tendency to acquire imported products instead of homegrown merchandise, one of which being the clear cuts in quality. For instance, Vietnamese people would choose a Japanese or American cut of beef to cook foreign dishes namely steak or barbecue instead of locally produced ones. This brings back the best results for the dish as it will be tender and juicy, contrary to Vietnamese’s cut of beef which will be chewy and dry. Hence, an increasing amount of imported food is bought. Since the benefits of buying overseas goods are widely acknowledged, governments and enterprises should find a viable solution to this problem. Regarding local food companies, they should change the way how their products are made in order to fulfill the consumers’ requirement. In terms of authorities, they should pour money into upgrading the manufacturing system which will result in a higher quality merchandise. For example, after years of increasing the manufacturing system along with the methods of producing, Vietnam has made one of the best types of rice in the world which is ST25 in 2019. On the whole, it is an effective and proper way that authorities and dwellers join hands. To sum up, one of the reasons why people have a tendency to purchase imported goods is because of the quality, which can be solved by funding the manufacturing system and developing new methods of production.