For centuries, important parts of education have remained such as reading, writing and maths. With the advent of computers, some people think that computer skill to be made as a forth skill to be added to the list. To what extent do you agree?

Till the end of the twentieth century the based competencies for people had been reading, writing and maths. However, the invention of computers has changed the situation and there is a popular opinion that we need to add this skill to the list. I support this point of view and this essay will explore this issue in further detail before coming to a conclusion. Firstly, it is obvious that technologies have changed the world in the last decades. Modern children could not imagine their life without a smartphone or a laptop. In many countries computers are a certain part of the educational process and the ability to use them is not discussed. Thus, for children a laptop is a tool for training and also for communication. For example, computers have become the crucial thing for the lockdowns. Without it learning and working processes would be impossible. Secondly, without that proficiency person would have fewer chances to get the job. An overwhelming majority of vacancies exist demand to have at least basic computer skills. The reason why it is happening is very simple. All of the businesses are more efficient with the technology used. For instance, even the cashier should have it due to the necessity to send weekly or monthly reports. In sum, to live fully in society today is not enough only to be able only to read, write and count. The integration of computers into the educational process and strict requirements for employees make having computer skills essential.