Tests and examinations are a central feature of school systems in many countries. Do you think the educational benefits of testing outweigh any disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Before, exams and tests are a good way to test a student's understanding and knowledge at the end of a unit or a course. Despite the fact that this method is used by many schools around the world, many people don't do well under pressure. Hence, their result doesn't show exactly what the student is capable of. A lot of people believe that academic success should be measured by the overall performance and not a single test whereas others disagree. From my view, I am in favor of the former and analyze the advantages and disadvantages of this old method. Tests and exams are used as a very reliable method of testing a student's ability to remember information and knowledge to answer questions. A lot of schools use this method because it is very simple and often effective. Students will need to pay attention to each question that will be covered in the tests and do further research on the subject. It also enables students to be more competitive with other students through scores in tests and both sides can push each other to learn more. Although it is very straightforward, it is possible that the pressure from your peers and expectations may affect the result of the test in a bad way. Pressure can lead to other problems which include losing confidence and focus and those lead to harsh and careless decisions. Consequently, the result shows a bad ability to understand knowledge while in reality, the student might actually perform very well and consistently throughout the course. All in all, a whole period of study cannot be shown with a number in a single paper test that only reveals how well a student memorizes information, but they should be measured with an overall grade that looked into their actual performance and efforts in a whole period.