Studying art in school also improves students' performance in other subjects, because it is easier for multi-skilled students to learn new things. That's why art should be obligatory in schools. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often believed that educating oneself with art, especially children will enhance their performance in academic achievements. Hence, many people suggest that artwork education should be a mandatory subject in schools. I partially disagree with the statement and will substantiate my view in the course of the essay. To commence with, it is undeniable that art learning will improve various skills that might be beneficial in terms of the overall achievement of other subjects. Singing, for instance, boost confidence levels. Similarly, other activities, such as drawing and painting enhance imagination and creativity. In fact, there are various school institutions that encourage their pupils in participating in extracurricular activities due to the benefits associated with it. Nevertheless, it should not be made a compulsory area in schools as it requires certain technical skills that might be lacking in many pupils. Being forced to these artwork activities might be stressful and may have detrimental impacts on their concentration levels, resulting in an overall decrease in their core studies. If children, for example, are expected to take these mandated lessons as a part of their curriculum, they may find it challenging to excel in their other subjects due to the pressure a lot performing well in this area. In conclusion, after a thorough analysis of the topic, although it appears that there are several benefits of attaining education related to arts like enhancing social skills and academic grades, it might be mentally affecting the students who do not have sufficient talent required for it. I believe that art education should be optional as making it obligatory will do more harm than good.