Some people believe government should spend money in saving languages of few speaker from dying out completely. Others think this is a waste of financial resources. Discuss both views and give opinion.

People have different views about whether money should be spent on saving rare languages or other more important matters. While preserving ancient dialects would be a positive movement, I believe that further investment in other priorities should be made first. On the one hand, it could be argued that rare dialects are at the brink of extinction because there are less people speaking them nowadays. In particular, globalization means communication has to be unified and individuals spend more time using popular languages like English, French, or Spanish to communicate with each other. As a result, it is hard to preserve rare dialects of small communities. By protecting these languages we can keep the diversity of culture. However, I believe that spending money on other vital aspects is more important. One of the most pressing concern is in-person social interaction. With the growth of internet, people spend more time on the online social media. Despite the benefits of these platforms bring to its users, more and more people choose to communicate through internet and neglect the face-to-face activities that we have done for thousands of years. Therefore, individuals start to lose their ability to handle the daily interactions. For example, when observing a group of students at a local coffee shop, they spend more time playing on their phone than talking with each other. Most students reported that it is hard for them to initiate conversations so they prefer to talk through the social platforms like Facebook, Whatsapp,.. In conclusion, though preserving endangered languages of small communities is great to promote cultural diversity. I am convinced that it is better to use government funding for others more urgent issues, sush as face-to-face social interaction.