Students perform better in school when they are rewarded rather than punished. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Discuss both view and give your own opinion.

There is an opinion that giving awards will positively affect students ’ performances instead of punishing them. I personally agree with this statement. First of all, giving rewards to students will give a sense of being appreciated. Students can realise that their existence is recognized by other people, especially adults. In fact, schoolchildren are in the stage of identity seeking. Therefore, small attention to acknowledge their achievements will help them to find out what they want to do further in their lives. For example, appreciating schoolchildren who are interested in music will boost their confidence in performing for the next concert. Furthermore, students will be more motivated in improving and develop their skills. On the other hand, punishing students may traumatise them. Further, it will give an inner wound that can be a serious problem in the future. In some psychological research, children who have inner-child trauma have difficulty in expressing their desires and experiencing a lack of communication. Then, it leads them to have unfavourable behaviour that may disadvantage them in the future. For instance, those who do not know how to express their anger may experience depression and even want to suicide. In addition, punishing pupils will possibly make them have low self-esteem. As a result, they cannot believe in themselves and cannot do their best in school. To sum up, complimenting students for what they have done in school is better than punishing them. Students need to be encouraged to develop their interests and skills. Additionally, they will be avoided from doing useless or harmful activities.