In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued that in the coming days, no one will purchase hardcopy books or newspapers since they will have access to the softcopy materials for free. Personally, I strongly believe print materials can not be pushed out of existence as they offer a more reliable method. In this essay, I will tackle this issue and give a conclusion. First of all,the current advancements in technology seem to have brought with it some good in this regard in that e- books and newspapers are easy to access and more durable. In other words, unlike the hardcopy materials that can easily get torn or may only be available at a distant library, the soft copies from the internet are only a click away from accessing in the comfort of a home. Take, for example, if an individual wished to read a foreign newspaper or book, rather than opt for a hardcopy that can not be readily available, one would find it easy to get a softcopy. Nonetheless, electronic books or newspapers possess a major setback in that if the device a person uses to access them gets damaged, then all information would be lost. The opposite is true with hardcopy materials. On the other hand, printed books and newspapers offer a plus point in that they can be accessed without any reliance on an external device. To put this in perspective, there is no need to own a mobile phone or computer in order to read books because it will always be handy. For instance, in a survey conducted on the benefits of using printed copies as opposed to ebooks, it was determined that hardcopies last longer since they can be used without dependence on technology. This in itself is the primary reason printed copies will always remain in the system. By way of conclusion, I reaffirm my initial stance that hardcopy newspapers and books offer a more reliable method of reading as compared to ebooks which often times depends on the use of a device. Therefore, in as much as a person has a choice to make on which media to use, the fact of the matter is that print media is better than soft copies.