TOURISM IS ONE OF THE FASTEST GROWING INDUSTRIES AND CONTRIBUTES A GREAT DEAL TO ECONOMIES AROUND THE WORLD. HOWEVER, THE DAMAGE TOURISM CAN CAUSE TO LOCAL CULTURES AND THE ENVIRONMENT IS OFTEN IGNORED. TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE AND DISAGREE?

Wonderful sceneries, stunning beaches, and vintage artists are some of the major contributors to the economic growth worldwide. There are those who hold the view that local cultures and environment are causing problems and are being disregarded by the government. I completely disagree with this notion. Tourists from around the world have grown exponentially for the past two decades and made a huge impact on the wealth of each country. Unlimited income from tourism resulted in endless improvement of the communities and local cultures became famous thus more guests from various countries are up-and-coming. For instance, the local tattoo artist from Kalinga Philippines named Whang-od, often described as the oldest “mambabatok” became famous for using the traditional way of tattooing. Furthermore, foreigners started to visit our country just to see her and experience the painful yet remarkable work of art using her bare hands, natural ink, bamboo sticks and thorn of flowers. The government, on the other hand, made some recognitions for her intelligent contribution to show the pride of the Filipino people hence attracting more tourists. Thus, more native artists are now encouraged to show their love for traditional art like collecting vintage pieces and developing more attractions that will benefit not only the artists but also the organizations and institutions. In conclusion, I, therefore, completely and equivocally disagree that visitors from different nations are causing our local cultures and the ecosystem harmful effects which were ignored by the administration. Moreover, the increased profits brought by tourism offers a lot of developments rather than deterioration to all nations.