It is often said that we live today in a “throwaway society” in which people buy things and soon after throw them away. What are the causes of the “throwaway society”? What problems could the “throwaway society” create?

In current times, modern societies have increased their consumption and need more goods to feel satisfaction. There are many stimuli delivered by advertising and on social media which creates this necessity of consuming massively. In this essay, I will explain what are the possible causes for this phenomenon and what type of problems could appear from this “throwaway society”. The causes behind this new behaviour can be numerous and can affect differently adults and children. Younger people who are forming their personality and morality, are more influenced by commercials broadcasted on television, magazines and on social media. What is more, they tend to follow renowned people on Instagram, for example, who shows how fantastic they are as a result of purchasing a new bag. On the next day, the trend might be using new sunglasses, and this will continue on the following days. Teenagers might want to look like their idols, and this can put a strain on them. As a consequence, they are led to buy more things in order to satisfy that constant need to show what they have and how modern they look. Furthermore, clothes, devices and other goods are experiencing a downward tendency regarding their prices since they are totally disposable. Material goods have become more affordable and it has been easier to purchase them online. Taking the aforementioned points together, it can be reasonable to perceive that this “throwaway society” has created some problems. This exaggerative consumption clearly leads to larger amounts of waste, which sometimes, might not be recycled. Furthermore, when the production climbs, higher levels of carbon dioxide emissions are released into the atmosphere. Altogether, these markedly rise levels of pollution, having a detrimental effect on the environment and probably on health. Another negative result might be the fact that despite purchasing various things, people might do not feel interested in anything, leading to anxiety and frustration. To summarize, it is undoubtedly that our modern way of living is characterised by high levels of consumption. The truth is that people are constantly being bombarded by appealings to have novel things, in order to be part of some social artificial position. However, these goods are quickly disposed of and replaced by another one, creating large amounts of waste and pollution.