Governments should invest more in public transport than in building new roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The area on which the government spends its money is a highly controversial issue. Many people argue that the funds should be allocated towards public transport development, while others opine that it ought to be spent on building new roads. Personally, I strongly agree with the former statement. The three reasons are that public transport can cut traffic, lower air harm and help people who cannot buy a car, making it justifiable to spend more on it rather than constructing new roads.

To begin with, the use of mass transit systems can reduce the recurring issue of traffic congestion, since fewer private cars will be on the road as more families opt for transportation modes such as buses. For this reason, individuals who travel daily can benefit from this, as it is less time-consuming for them to move from one place to another. To illustrate, in many Japanese cities such as Saitama, good train systems can reduce the need to drive, as the majority of the population uses the highly efficient public commuting network, which reduces their citizens' reliance on personal vehicles. The roads are nearly empty while the trains are working in full swing.

Additionally, public transit services, particularly subways, are widely considered more environmentally friendly because the majority of them operate on electricity rather than petrol, effectively reducing greenhouse gas emissions, a major contributor to various health complications and global warming. Not only that, it moves people away from driving cars. As a result, burdens on the healthcare industry can be reduced as the incidence of pollution-related illnesses in a country declines. Therefore, investments in public transport are advantageous, although money must also be spent on improving roads and creating new lines, more focus should be placed on the conveyance rather than roads.

Moreover, mass commuting networks are the most accessible form of transportation. For this reason, they are highly advantageous for individuals from low-income households, students, and the elderly, since some may not be able to afford cars or may not own any.

In conclusion, I completely agree with the assertion that the government should prioritise investing in the enhancement of public transit systems to ensure optimal traffic flow, environmental sustainability, and inclusivity for all members of society.