Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Homework for school children has been the hottest topic of debate in the last decade. Some parents believe that children should not be given any assignment to bring back home, while others argue homework is one of the essential components of learning. My opinion on this matter is that teachers should give homework to pupils, but with certain limitations to ensure these youngsters have ample time to learn other skills outside of the academy. This essay will discuss both of these views in detail, with some examples. Firstly, the proponents of this issue argue that school children should not be given homework by their teachers. The reason behind this is students should spend their time outside of school to learn other skills such as swimming, playing musical instruments, or dancing. For instance, research from Harvard University shows that skills such as playing the piano are crucial for early brain development. As a result, children will be able to learn and understand concepts better at the institutions. On the contrary, the opponents of this debate argue that practice is key in children's education. After school assignments help children to develop self-discipline, as well as better knowledge retention. For example, in a study by the Malaysian Center of Early Educations, students that are given practice generally retain as much as 80% of the concepts learned in school. Thus, in order to succeed in later stages in life, students should be given homework at an early stage. To summarise, both sides have some solid arguments with regard to the topic. Taking a middle ground is the way to maximise the benefits from both. To reiterate my point, school faculties should still give homework for children to develop discipline, but with a limit on the volume, so that children will be able to discover and learn other skills outside of school hours.