In some countries an increasing no of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for government to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. Do you agree or disagree?

High consumption of junk food is associated with an increased risk of developing diet-related diseases and government should charge a high price tax on fast- food corporations. I agree with this initiative because it can cause serious health conditions and levying higher taxes contributes to a decrease in the demand for it. To commence with, Serious health condition is mainly caused by increased intake of highly processed food and sugary drinks. Fast food commonly known as junk food contains little or no nutrition, vitamins and minerals, inducing diseases like hypertension, type-II diabetes mellitus, hypercholesterolemia, myocardial infarction and obesity in teenagers and adults. Despite consequences, fast- food outlets are nowadays readily available and people are also consuming it on a regular basis. For example, multiple studies have shown that junk food increases the risk of numerous diseases and that is why the Indian Punjab government have restricted junk foods in school, which leads to a reduction in the intake of junk foods at school. Moreover, imposing a higher tax on multinational fast- food companies radically decreases the demand for it. Because of fast food popularity, there is more expenditure on it rather than expenditure on education, buying cars and laptops. States must impose an excessive tax on franchises like McDonald's, KFC and Pizza Hut which adversly took over the food industry to tackle lifestyle diseases. For instance, Several studies have shown that junk foods are harmful to health and can even lead to early mortality that is the reason why Colombia imposed an excessive tax on ultra-processed food, which resulted in a significant decline in diet-related morbidity and mortality. To conclude, fast foods are hazardous to human health as they can cause high-risk diseases in teenagers and adults. Therefore, I agree with this initiative that the government should impose a higher tax on fast- food restaurants to overcome this life-threatening disease.