Health experts claim that walking is the best exercise. However, people are walking less on a daily basis. What has made it happen and how to deal with this?

Despite it is being recommended by health experts to walk as the best exercise, some people tend to walk less in everyday life. I believe the development of automation in transportation and the personal preference in choosing an unphysical job are the reasons for this issue arising, whereas the solutions of this case will be explained further in the following paragraphs. In terms of reasoning, one of many causes that made this happen is the enhancement of transportation machinery. The impact of vehicles such as cars, bikes, trains, and even aeroplanes, creates huge mobility of people effortlessly. As an example, in the past, our ancestors needed to walk hundreds to thousands of miles to reach one destination to another whereas these days society can easily arrive without walking at all. Another possible reason for this issue is that numerous individuals today prefer to choose a job that requires less physical activity. In other words, in the past, practical work that required strong physic such as farming or labour contractions were seen as prestigious occupations. Meanwhile, nowadays, there is a term as a blue-collar job that views folk who work physically less preferable in society. As a result, the cutting-edge of mode transportation automation and white-collar professional preference could indirectly impact the less mobility of nations to use their own feet. However, there are numerous solutions to offer, such as being more conscious of our well-being, which could subsequently increase our quality of life. As well as surrounding ourselves with a community who live healthily. Indeed, the answer depends on one’s self. Nonetheless, we need to remind ourselves that being healthy is the most expensive thing to have, hence, bounding ourselves with people who aim for living well could increase our motivation to walk more in our everyday life. In conclusion, although automation advancement and white-collar preference in selecting less physical jobs could be the causes of declining walking intensity among nations, being more aware and bounding ourselves with healthy surroundings would possibly be great alternatives.