Some people believe governments should spend money on saving languages of few speakers from dying out. Others think this is a waste of financial resources. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people claim that authorities should allocate more public funds to prevent some languages that few citizens use to fade away, while others argue that it is wasteful. In my opinion, there are more essential issues that need governments' financial support rather than minorities' languages, and I will give some valid arguments to support my view. From people who support spending more money on saving languages of a few ethnic groups' perspectives, language is an indispensable part of the culture that symbolises those speakers' origins and defining characteristics. Governments use more money to protect those languages to make social scientists study the cultural traditions easier to make a further scholarly contribution in language and history. For instance, songs, myths, and poetry written by those languages are more accessible to understand its in-depth meaning and historical background. Moreover, this act could prevent the world's cultural diversity from gradually destroying and improving minorities' sense of belonging and awareness of their culture. On the contrary, other taxpayers argue that national finances should address higher priority and more widespread problems such as poverty and health shortages. To cite the example of the rising poverty rate caused by mass unemployment, the government should spend money on helping the unemployed improve their professional skills to re-enter the workforce and create more jobs to ensure that the unemployed can move out of the struggle to make ends meet. Regarding healthcare, it is necessary to invest more in primary health care resources and increase the coverage of health insurance for a broader range of diseases so that more citizens can enjoy better healthcare and thus live longer and healthier lives. In conclusion, I reiterate my belief that instead of protecting minority language, issues of a more popular scale require political financial support that allows a wider range of people to benefit.