The money spent by governments on space programs would be better spent on vital public services such as schools and hospitals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays governments are spending a great deal of money on space exploration. Many think that since the government’s budgets are limited the funds should be better spent on improving the citizen’s living conditions. In my opinion, I agree that space exploration is an expensive affair. However, I also believe that we should not completely ignore it. Despite the fact that space programs demand extensive funding, they bring numerous benefits to mankind. Many of the technologies that we use today have been developed as a part of space programs. For example, the navigation systems in our mobile phones and cars work with the help of satellites in space. Further, these programs have allowed us to have a better understanding of the phenomena that are taking place on our planet. Satellites are being used to keep track of changes in the magnetic field, temperature, and atmospheric gases of our planet. These help scientists on Earth to make accurate predictions. For instance, today, warnings about upcoming storms can be issued in advance based on the data provided by satellites. However, the government must also make sure that its citizens are looked after. If there are not enough educational institutions or if they don’t have the proper infrastructure & funding then students wouldn’t be able to receive a proper education. In the same way, without a good healthcare system, our quality of life would degrade. For example, without the universal health care system citizens have to spend a large amount of money on health which directly impacts the economy. Thus, investing in public services is as important as investing in space research. In conclusion, it seems advisable that government should allocate equal budgets for both, space programs and public services. It would appear that both benefit society in various ways.