Many believe that an effective public transport system is a key component of modern city. What are the advantages and disadvantages of public transport?

To begin with,there are a variety of public transportation systems all over the world such as, grab, taxi, train and bus. Meanwhile in certain cities, like Bangkok and Manila, for instance, they have unique public transport namely " tut-tut" and "jeepney". Many believe that an effective public transport system is a key component of a civilised city. Below I will explain the advantages and disadvantages of public transport. I start off with the advantages first. Many options indeed! In one city, there are so many choices. People can choose any model of vehicle that suits them well according to their activities. For instance, going to work, a person may use a monorail train because it is nearby the working station, subsequently uses a taxi to move to another like shopping mall after work. Reducing the air pollution of course, especially by using buses and trains, like in Japan Significant gases emission can be reduced hence, more healthy lifestyles. Nowadays the motor vehicle accidents involving the citizens are alarming. Present data show that fatigue is one of the major contributing factors. Micro-sleep. Public transportation is one of the solutions. For example, in Malaysia, where the accidents rate is quite high, the government now is trying so hard to improve the city rail system. On the other hand, time limitation seems to be the main disadvantage. Individuals need to follow the given timetable. If we own a car or a motorbike, we can make a move at any time. To illustrate, during an emergency situation, certain public vehicles usage are not practical. Rushing to the hospital can be a good example. Overcrowded is another matter. Trains and buses are not suitable for people suffering from panic attacks or anxiety disorders further, it can make it worse instead. When there is an airborne outbreak such as influenza or COVID 19, avoiding cramp buses or trains is advisable. To conclude, public transportations give more advantages than disadvantages. Up to the citizens to plan their move practically.