Traffic jams are a problem in many towns and cities today. Some people say that the solution is to build wider roads. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that many cities have congestion as their problem and some people believe that expanding the size of the roads would overcome it. However, I strongly disagree with this solution and provide a reasonable explanation from my standpoint. First of all, it is undeniable that the number of cars and bikes is increasing significantly these days. People need transportation to take them to their offices, malls, markets, and any other facilities. But, citizens may usually end up purchasing private vehicles because of the lack of public transportation in the city. That is why it is crucial to construct the infrastructure of public transport and build a system that can be easily used by the people. For example, a special line for public buses or a wider network of trains or trams. Secondly, it is also useful if people receive an incentive when they take mass transportation. For instance, a person who leaves his car in the parking lot at the station has free admission to commute by train across the city in the first month. The traffic jams will be reduced and furthermore, the people could be happier because they are no longer stuck in the congestion. Thus, it is important for the government to make a new regulation which could stimulate people to leave their own vehicles. In conclusion, although some people believe that building wider roads is the solution to the traffic jams, I firmly remain convinced that the solution is by making a larger infrastructure of public transportation and giving an incentive to the people who dismiss their own car or bike.