In many countries around the world, life expectancy is increasing. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this situation and give your own opinion.

With the increase in advancements in the healthcare system, life expectancy across countries has been increasing. I would argue that there are more negative consequences than positive, this essay will consider the positive and negative impacts of this. With regards to the positive effects, long healthy life would enable an individual to witness various experiences. Having a longer life would allow one to enjoy and be a part of all the stages of life; such as spending time with grandchildren, experiencing their children become successful and much more. Additionally, the drive to live longer would motivate individuals to be mindful of their health and wellbeing. On the other hand, there are several disadvantages of a longer life expectancy. Firstly, this would mean that the population of the country would be more skewed, having a significant percentage of older people as their population. For the government, this implies that increasing amounts of money would have to be invested towards the wellbeing of the older population, for instance, providing free healthcare for elder citizens or supporting them financially post-retirement. Secondly, in order to boost the growth of the country, the government would have to increasingly rely on immigration and release more immigration pathways. Such is the case of Canada, where the economy is heavily dependent on immigrants due to its growing population of elder citizens. To conclude, while having a longer life may have its advantages, its disadvantages could have some serious consequences. In my opinion, the negative impact of having an increased life expectancy outweigh the positives especially if the individual is not having a healthy life.