Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Many people consider social networking sites are a bad influence for the community. From my point of view, while some issues are caused by social media, I believe they are beneficial for everyone. As of today, billions of people are using social platforms like Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter and they bring a lot of benefit to their users. First, it helps individuals to connect with each other. Students who study abroad are mostly live away from their families. Lots of them feel homesick after months of not being able to see their parents. With the help of theinternet and social media, they can talk, chat, and even do video calls to connect with their loved ones from afar. Moreover, it is easy to befriend new folks that join these online networking sites. Thus, new connections are formed and building relationship becomes much easier than ever. Secondly, these platforms are also a good place to find jobs, advertise, or even start a new business. Nowadays, many recruiters use these applications to look for suitable candidates for the positions. Candidates can send their resumes directly to the recruiter to have the chance of getting an offer. Furthermore, some apps like Facebook allows their users to sell and buy stuff on the marketplace which gives the opportunity for new businesses. Not only individuals are benefiting from social networking sites but also society. Many folks with marginal views have a hard time finding others with the same perspective. Therefore, they feel left out and can not get along well with their current community. Social media let them find people with the same way of living and a place where they feel safe and belong. Another aspect is the shift in the balance of power. Many issues related to the environment and culture is left untouched by the government. Thus, individuals stand together to express their thoughts and voices on the internet and demand the authorities to act and deal with these concerns. It would be impossible for a single person to make this change but with the power of the masses, many problems can be tackled. To sum up, I think online networking platforms are beneficial and have a positive impact in many cases. Every new technology or development can be harmful if we do not use them properly, but if we do then it will help the world to be a better place to live.