Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that children should be instilled in awareness of competition early on, whereas others counter that for youngsters, learning how to cooperate rather than contend with others could be more valuable. In my opinion, although exposing children to a harsh competition will prepare them for competition in adulthood, I argue that only when children can master how to cooperate with peers, are they able to gain greater and more lasting achievements. Parents and teachers alike have taken the view that infusing children with a concept of competition will better ready children for a competitive society. Through competing against and comparing with others, minors get a fair understanding of themselves (their advantages and disadvantages),and at the same time, which can be a great motivator for them to earn success. This agreement is reinforced by studies demonstrating that children who really enjoy competition are highly likely to reach their full potential to win out. However, winning is not the ultimate aim of the children ’s education. If they hope to gain greater and more lasting achievements, learning cooperation should be put on more emphasis. In stead of encouraging children to contend with peers, parents and teachers are liable to serve them by advocating cooperation. This is because that, participating in teamwork, youngsters are able to foster the acquisition of invaluable social skills such as leadership, decision-making, trust-building and communication, no matter who gets the first or last place. Moreover, equipped with such useful social values and skills, children will earn more chance to live a better life in their adulthood. To support this, research conducted by certain HR departments showed that the job applicants who possess rich teamwork experience are far more popular than those lacking relevant cooperative skills. In conclusion, it is always better to educate children about how to work and study in a group instead of focusing on how to beat others, which could bring more good social values and skills in preparation for their adulthood.