In some countries, there has been an increase in the number of advertisements which try to persuade children to buy snacks, toys, and other goods. Parents often claim that these ads are unfair. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

With the rise in the advancement of technology and digital media, children are exposed to various advertisements that influence them to purchase snacks, games and other products. In my opinion, these advertisements may have a negative impact on a child’s mindset. There are two reasons why it could be argued that these ads are fair. Firstly, there are several gaming gadgets that are built for educational purposes and follow an interactive methodology. Such toys would add to the knowledge of the youth and unlock new learning channels. Secondly, there are several kits that can boost creativity among the kids and give them the opportunity to showcase their ideas. For instance, Lego blocks give children the liberty to create and recreate structures from their imagination, on the other hand, parents get an opportunity to spend quality time with their offspring thereby moulding their minds in the right direction. However, I would agree with those who believe that such commercials have a bad influence. The advertisements displayed for food products are usually unhealthy and may lead to future health problems if consumed excessively. As a result, it is important that parents guide their children into eating what is right for their bodies. Further, while games can expose a child’s mind to the world of technology, they can also be extremely addictive and violent. For example, games like Pubg and Call Of Duty may have several violent graphics which can result in building arrogant behaviour among the youth. In conclusion, the advertisements may be beneficial if the children and parents make calculated purchases. It is important that parents supervise the games and toys that the children interact with to ensure that the technology is having a positive impact on their mindset.