All criminals should have access to education and rehabilitation programs while in prison. To what extent do you agree or disagree

There is a constant demand to transform the prisons into correction centres wherein all inmates are given the opportunity to become literate and disciplined. Whereas, I personally believe that, this kind of facility must be limited to first offenders, delinquents and people undergoing a sentence for trivial offences only; and that for the sake of economic and social costs associated with it. It is widely known that the current incarceration system is failing miserably to prevent recidivism. It is happening because imprisonment results in loss of time and opportunity to develop new skills required to earn a livelihood. Consequently, former offenders are left with no option other than to commit another crime in order to have some food on their plate. So, how it could be avoided? The only possible solution is their rehabilitation through adequate teaching and training to assist them to secure a decent job to reintegrate into society. Furthermore, it is absolutely indubitable that no one is a born criminal and generally a product of unavoidable adverse circumstances. Hence, the first offenders and delinquents deserve the opportunity to resurrect themself through exposure to knowledge and counselling which would help them revive into law-abiding citizens on completion of their short sentence. On the other hand, wasting taxpayers' money in an attempt to rehabilitate felons who are sentenced to death or life imprisonment does not seem feasible and should be avoided. Such a practice would only result in the depletion of resources without any positive outcome. Moreover, giving wicked criminals such facilities would also send a wrong message amongst people who were victims of a heinous crime. In conclusion, I would like to reaffirm my belief that rehabilitation programs should be exclusively focused on people who are behind bars for non-indictable offences, instead of hard-head criminals.