Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment. Only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the continuous declining rates of environment -related issues, it is very controversial whether people can really make a change by themselves, or only large industries and the government can effectively contribute to this matter. In my opinion, individual people have a major role in improving the condition of the environment. Although both parties need to contribute to this important issue, people can greatly help on this cause, by simply switching their source of energy to a renewable alternative. For example, they can replace their heating and electricity sources from fossil fuels with solar panels or wind energy. By doing this, they can reduce the effect of global warming which has a major role on the environment. Also, people can opt for recyclable products, rather than using plastic items that are not biodegradable. For instance, they can go grocery shopping and instead of using plastic bags, they use bags that are made of cloth. On the other hand, large industries can come up with a more environmentally friendly way of disposing of their chemical waste. Big companies usually dump their byproduct in rivers and lakes which taints the water and has a negative effect on the marine eco-system. Furthermore, the government can ban the use of any products that are not biodegradable and cannot be recycled. This law will have a good result in keeping the earth in good condition. for example, the government can ban the use of plastic bags in shopping centers. As a result, stores need to replace the bags with an eco-friendly alternative, like paper or fabric. To sum up, although both sides need to put an effort to improve the environment, I believe that individuals can have a positive impact on the environment if they grow in numbers.