People today seem to be increasingly buying consumer goods such as the latest domestic appliances, clothes and electronic gadgets. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, population is purchasing more and more products such as the latest domestic appliances, clothes and electronic gadgets. There are many positive and negative aspects of that trend. In this essay, I will describe them and give my own opinion on that notion. Firstly, buying a lot of goods is not sustainable, because majority of them cannot be recycled, and to get rid of them, they end up on a landfill where decomposition takes hundreads of years. In addition, especially cheap clothes and plastic things are hard to reuse and after a while there are not enough land to store the used products, which consequently is harmful for the planet. What is more, by purchasing more clothes, electronic devices, toiletries, being grateful is lost. Similarly, people have simply too much and they do not appreciate new things later on. In addition, they can afford a lot and they do not have to cost a fortine. Nevertheless, the society nowadays treats shopping as a way to relax, often compulsively buying not necessarily needed objects. On the other hand, the quality of life has increased significantly, as everything is easily available, he delivery takes usually a couple of days and many consider online shopping as a more convenient way of purchasing goods. Many years ago, individuals had to wait for months to be able to buy a certain things, for example a kitchen table or a wardrobe. Now, there is a greater range of products and we have ability to get them any minute. To sum up, people are facing a huge dilemma today- we can buy almost everything, but what will happen to our planet if we keep doing it for the next decade? It is worth remembering that we are frying to decrease the effects of global warming, waste in the oceans and one of the causes of that is shopping. In my opinion, that development has a negative effect not only on the society, but also on the earth.