Many supermarkets sell more and more imported food products than ones produced in their home country. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Nowadays, a lot of supermarkets have decided to highlight imported food over the local ones and in my opinion, this market strategy had more drawbacks than benefits. First of all, I want to highlight the disadvantages because I believe that, they could trigger many issues in the country. When the big supermarkets decided to not support local products, they are against the hard work of the countryside workers. In addition, local products, are healthy due to the fact that producers do not use preservatives to keep them fresh. In consequence, if supermarkets do not sell them, the citizens will do not have the opportunity to buy them. Secondly, I believe that, if supermarkets sell more local products, the local economy also can be improved. The more local products they sell, the more wealth the country had. Usually, local food is used to cook typical dishes, on that basis, supporting local food means also supporting and keeping the traditions. I think that supermarkets find more economic advantages than disadvantages in this decision. Usually, the prices of imported food are low than local food, in consequence, the more imported food they buy, the more benefit they will gain. Besides, as users, we have more possibilities and options from choosing. This sells strategy, give us in our hands the opportunity to have all that we want in one shell. For instance, an American citizen could cook a Thailand dish and vice versa. In conclusion, in the effort to support the local economy, supermarkets should also support and improve local food and products, and the decision to do the opposite could have several consequences in a nearly future