The governments should give each citizen a basic income so that they have enough money to live on, even if they are unemployed. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The job landscape in today's world is very hard to grasp, leading some people to some difficulties in finding jobs and getting a stable payroll. An idea that emerges from this is for countries to fund their people with certain incentives that will help them to get by, irrespective of their employment status. I agree to some extent with this proposal but it needs to be implemented with caution. On one hand, I somewhat argue that this solution will present us another problem, where the population is over-reliant on their government. For instance, having a steady income will have people feeling financially assured and may lead them to drop their productivity level. This will be a problem because the nation's GDP will be hurting. Moreover, this gives the people in power control over their citizens. This is yet another problem because history has shown us that countries ruled by an absolute power are a time bomb waiting for a coup to happen. On the other hand, I believe this will be a breath of fresh air, only if we limited the time for up to 3 years after graduating to award this scheme. This should be a way to help the younger generation find opportunities that will greatly impact their life. Germany is an example that I know has implemented this. They pay all of the graduated students from their institutions a certain amount for up to two years, whether they already secured a job or not, to ensure that they earn the nation's minimum wages. To summarize, using this proposal within a limited time will help provide a better future for the whole population and the nation itself. Therefore I urge every country to follow what Germany has been doing all this time.