Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these view and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that advertising is considered as the key aspect that stimulates people’s desire to purchase items offered. However, advertising turns out to be something insignificant to some consumers since it is not special anymore. This essay will discuss both points of view. Advertising is one of the most effective ways for companies to introduce and sell their products to customers. It also frequently happens that the prospective customers’ desire to buy a product is not only driven by solely the need, but also by popularity of the celebrities or influencers promoting the product and how trending the advertisement in the society. For instance, nowadays, countless sellers compete one another to offer their products by paying prominent and up-to-date influencers to display the items sold on their social media. Interestingly, it works. They successfully sell a huge number of products. However, it is an undeniable fact that some people also pay less attention to advertisements since they think it is just a common thing. Some product promotions overly flood advertising media, TV and social media in particular, and it makes customers reluctant to see. Moreover, an overly-exposed advertisement is even considered as something annoying when it keeps popping out in social media regardless the timing. For instance, as per my experience, when a product advertisement suddenly appears when I am watching YouTube, I surely skip it and even feel bothered. To sum up, the effectiveness of advertising is determined by the popularity of the celebrities promoting it and the trending factor. It is also imperative that product sellers should maintain the frequency of the items displayed to avoid customers’ reluctance.