The first car appeared on British road 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Private vehicles are an integral part of human life. With cities growing and fossil fuels becoming despairingly available, the need for owning a car is at an all-time high. There has been a growing desire to put a cap on car ownership and facilitation. From a personal point of view, there is no need for such interventions as cars are necessary elements of our lives. In the following paragraphs, I am going to provide a few reasons why I take such a stance on this highly controversial subject. As far as private cars are concerned, there is a growing concern among scientists and the public that more automobiles on the road equal further damage to the environment. Despite the fact that emissions forms cars play a major role in the global warming we are facing in the day and age, I support alternative sources of energy, as opposed to limiting the number of cars. for instance, Tesla has proved to everyone that electric cars can be safer, faster and more economical. Therefore, we can all own one without leaving a huge carbon footprint. On the other hand, some might argue that too many vehicles, especially personal ones, lead to crowded cities and sedentary citizens. However, I am uncertain that the number of automobiles has a direct influence on the latter. With proper education, we can have societies where people maintain a balance between driving and other physical activities such as walking or running. In addition, soaring gas prices are already deterring a lot of folks from unnecessary drives. Nonetheless, the issue of bustled city centres remains an issue worthy of attention. To conclude, there are several options we can adopt to control the negative impact of the high number of automobiles on our roads. In my opinion, We can achieve this by educating our societies about the sustainable use of this technology rather than depriving anyone of the joy of owning an SUV or a pickup truck. Similar to any other modern inventions, it is how we use them that can affect our well being in a harmful way, not necessarily their existence, or their numbers for that matter.