Many criminals re-offend after they have been punished. Why do some people continue to commit crimes after they have been punished, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

It is generally acknowledged that a significant number of offenders are re-involved in crimes in contemporary society. This essay will outline potential reasons why criminals commit offenses repeatedly, and suggest possible solutions which should be taken into consideration. There are two main reasons why criminals re-involved crimes. First of all, although lawbreakers get punished in prisons, they have not been rehabilitated because they always get along with other criminals. They might learn the new law-breaking skills from the group of other criminals in a jail. Secondly, after they are released from prisons, they suffer from poverty since they do not have social skills and practical skills. For example, a survey conducted by the Korea Crime Research Foundation has revealed that almost 30% of criminals have broken laws due to famine and poverty. As the example clearly illustrates, the poor environment of criminals can be a key factor to involving crime multiple. ​ However, it is not all doom and gloom as there are specific methods to handle these problems. Not only can working for public services causes rehabilitation among offenders, but it may also bring about acquiring various skills such as cleaning skills and construction skills. For instance, as the Korean government has provided vocational courses with a practice that contributes to society, the re-offend rate has significantly decreased than before. Furthermore, the society improved without using state funds ​ In conclusion, due to gathering with other criminals and a lack of practical skills, the majority of criminals re-offend, but learning vocational skills can be an efficient means of not being involved in crime again. At the same time, public services can be developed by lawbreakers efforts.