More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in a foreign country. Do the benefits of studying abroad outweigh the drawbacks?

Many students go overseas to study at colleges or universities in this day and age. People have different opinions on whether or not studying abroad is beneficial. While some assert that studying in other countries has drawbacks, I strongly believe that advantages outweigh disadvantages. On the one hand, some argue that people who study overseas can be a burden on their parents as it costs a great deal of money. Since parents have to pay for children’s living such as accommodation fees, school tuition fees and transportation fares, they have to work hard. For example, in Korea, not only can an excessive amount of work for parents who support their children causes a lack of rest, but it may also bring about health problems such as stress, leading to burn-out syndrome. Therefore, they lose their own lives and health, but they just dedicate their time and energy to supporting their children. On the other hand, once students graduate high education from other countries, it can be a key factor in having the chances of better job opportunities. It is generally acknowledged that owing to globalization, the majority of companies want people who know other cultures and languages well. For instance, a survey conducted by the Korea occupation Foundation has revealed that almost 30% of companies prefer to recruit employees who have studied abroad. Therefore, studying abroad contribute to having well-paid jobs among students. In conclusion, while I accept that studying overseas sometimes be rather stressful for parents, I would point out that it might provide a better future for children. However, I recommend that students should do part time jobs to reduce parents ’ burden.