Some people think that the increase in international travel has a negative impact on the environment and should be restricted. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, there is a general thought about the bad impacts travelling cause as it turned to be harmful to the surroundings. Therefore, some restrictions may be imposed on travellers, so they become more aware of environmental consequences. It is undeniable that climate change should be one of our major concerns in this daily society. Firstly, it is generally agreed that the plane is the most secure and fast means of transport, and it seems very difficult to contradict this statement. However, it is said they significantly pollute the atmosphere and highly increase our carbon footprint. Therefore, some air companies widely offer on their trips to compensate for this impact which may be a possible solution but not the most effective one. In my view, it would be easier to boost other ways of travelling such as trains whose prices tend to be very high and sometimes, even unaffordable. Another point is the advice is given to the travellers as maybe there is not enough concern about how they should treat the local medium. Recently, it has appeared this new concept called “conscious travelling” which consider different points such as type of activities and accommodation, food is eaten, transportation etc. I personally believe having a wiser approach to these areas could make a difference. No one would dispute that travelling is easier now than ever thus more people are taking advantage of it. Nevertheless, users are not the only ones benefiting from this situation. Travel agencies, whose approaches on how trips should be conducted, I personally believe are considerably poor, might take a look to how respectful are being to the environment. Overall, it is probably a true fact that travelling might be unappropriated in terms of environmental concerns. Although, we could ideally try to rethink the concept we have of it and adapt it to new needs.