Young people who commit serious crimes such as robbery or violent attacks should be punished in the same way as adults. To what extend do you agree or disagree

It has been said that youngsters should be punished in the same manner as adults,while committing crimes, such as attacks, and robbery. I partially agree with this statement, and the points supporting my view would be discussed in this essay. Some believe that equal penalties should be given to adolescents due to the following reasons. First and foremost, punishment should be given regardless of age and gender, because providing leniency to one group will somehow reduce the fear of penalty in others. For example, when the juvenile criminal of Abhaya gang rape case in Delhi, was sent to a rehabilitation centre merely for 3 months and later got released, many teenagers realized the loopholes in the Indian judiciary, which encouraged them to commit more crimes. In addition, such considerations would be unfair to the victims, since they will not be compensated properly for their financial, emotional and mental loss. In the contrast to the above, young people make violence, as they are immature and influenced by external factors, such as TV programs and video games. For instance, it is evident that adolescents who watch programs having more violence are more likely to develop criminal behaviour. Therefore, one should control the content of the program,rather than punishing him/her. Furthermore, counselling programs or proper education should be imparted as punishment, so that they can differentiate between wrong and right actions in their future life. To conclude, of late, many youths are involved in criminal activities. As a result, it is considered that the same punishment should be provided for them, similar to adults. However, I believe circumstances should be considered while punishing them, and counselling programs should be imparted along with punishment.