Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent years it's been a topic of debate whether teaching art in schools is necessary. Some argue that it is a waste of time and school curriculum should focus on academic subjects. In this essay I will be discussing both views and why i totally disagree with the prior notion. To begin with, individuals who are advocating for not teaching art in schools base their argument on the fact that arts are something luxurious and children can practice it in their free time as a pastimetime activity. They believe that schools curriculum should focus and invest time on the important academic subject such as math, science and computer skills that will help pupils to succeed later on in their future careers. However, We can not deny that through art young children can acquire important skills that are essential in life. Firstly, through art children can express unique ideas and thoughts that will help them to become creative thinkers. Moreover, it will help them to boost their confidence. A recent study that was conducted in the UK showed that children who participated in drama classes were able to overcome stage fright. Furthermore, artistic creations are born through solving problems. For example, turning the clay into a sculpture or portraying emotion through a dance or a song. All of this improves youngsters' problem-solving skills which is a must to succeed in any career. In conclusion, art is an important subject and it should be thought in school. only through art students can acquire skills such as creative thinking, problem-solving, non-variable communication and much more.