Traditional medicine, such as acupuncture and herbal remedies, is very popular in some countries. Those who practise traditional medicine claim that it is better than modern medicine in maintaining and improving health. Do you agree or disagree with this point of view?

For years the traditional remedies had been viewed as a forgotten medicine, but recently people are taking a fresh look at it. It is also argued that these ancient methods are even better than modern ones in treating and maintening the public health. It is widely accepted that acupuncture and herbal treatments have brought us a lot of benefits. However, I believe that they can not compete with the evidence-based cures. The following essay will overlook two rationales to support my idea. First, comparing benefits and adverse effects of a treatment is the integral criteria that each doctor is expected to consider before offering a treatment. The pilar of beneficience is being examined continuously by evidence-based researches. For example, for a new medicine to be approved, it needs to pass the four stages of a clinical trial. In contrast, the traditional remedies lack this essential observation, hence they are not safe to be propagated. Second, for a treatment to be assumed reasonable not only should it be safe but also needs to be cost-effective. Although some of these methods like acupuncture confront the standards to be considered safe, they can not be accepted as a better method because they put more financial burdan on the government compared to less expensive western treatments. For instance, herbal remedies are usually so expensive. Thus, they either should be covered by the government or be paid from patients' pockets while these expences can be prevented by using the cheaper chemical FDA approved substitutes. To sum up, nowadays people prefere to be treated by traditional methods and believe they have a better outcome. I disagree with the above-said view because those are not usually been proved to be safe remedies; in addition, they are not cost-benefit.