In some couintries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

Nowadays, people in several countries are interested to know more about the background of their house or building they stay in. They may just be a general curiosity, however, they may also have specific purposes. This essay will look at the reason and give alternative ways to do background research on a house or building where people live in. There are two main reasons why people want to know the past of a place, first, they are just curious, and second, they want to know the track record of the house which will reflect indirectly the quality of the construction. Curiosity is one of the human beings, people being curious on the history of the house such as who had built this residence, who were the owners before, or even why this house was being sold. Moreover, the second type is people who want to know the track record of the building, this mainly comes from a broker who wants to sell a residence. For instance, the information about the house will help a broker to understand the age and quality of the house. In addition, to know the history of a house, people can do several methods such as asking the neighbourhood, reading the certificate of the house, or if the building is famous enough they can search on the internet. For instance, when a person wants to know about who was owning a house before buying it, the old neighbourhood around it can be asked, such as the track record of how this house was renovated in the past. In conclusion, people seek the history of a house or building because they are just curious or they want to know the track record and the quality of the building. Several methods can be used to research the house such as asking the neighbourhood, reading house certificates, or surfing on the internet.