The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the healthcare system in an effort to deal with the health issues involved. Some people think that way to deal with the problem is to introduce more physical education in school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The increasing overweight population is a worldwide issue that many people have been trying to resolve. Some say that instituting more physical training in educational institutions is one of the best measures to handle the trouble. However, I entirely disagree that it is an effective means. First of all, I believe that a more necessary thing than providing more physical education activities in educational facilities is the improvement of eating habits. Many countries have already executed sufficient physical activities in school. For instance, in the case of Germany and France, they perform 4 hours or more physical training classes per week. It is seldom different from the time of main subjects such as literature, mathematics, English. Despite these numerous physical education hours, the rising juvenile obesity phenomenon is associated with their dietary habits. We can know through the United States’ example. America is the country that affords the most advanced fitness activities both qualitatively and quantitatively in the academy. However, the country’s adolescent obesity rate is the worst among OECD nations. The States is well known that consume excessive calories, sugar, and sodium. Therefore, above all things, schools and parents should attempt the pickup of their children's diet to address this social problem. Secondly, it can be a more effective approach that schools and the government offer enjoyable after-school physical activities to students and induce them to participate in the activities. Compared to the past, in most countries, after-school pupils’ physical activity hours have considerably decreased, whereas physical education classes have gradually increased. All over the world, youth exercise amounts have declined above 20% compared to around two to three decades. According to several reliable investigations, it is related to young people’s leisure. Thus, various educational organizations and parents need to encourage by utilizing practical means, which their children exercise more. In conclusion, I firmly believe that providing more physical training in a school is not a realistic way to cope with the growing obese population.