In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced locally. Why do people buy imported food? What could be done to encourage people to buy local food?

There is a controversial perception of heating up a debate over the fact that paying for food from other nations rather than local food is trending in many countries. This essay is dedicated to analyzing the underlying reasons why people prefer exotic food to locally-produced food and giving some suggestions to advance the consumption of indigenous food. There is an eclectic mix of factors leading to the prevalence of imported food in substantial countries, one of them is the quality. Obviously, some countries have their exclusive methods to manufacture their foodstuff and also hold their exported food in a leap to keep it in the most decent condition so that they can earn customers’ trust as well as boosting the sales. For instance, Japanese wagyu beef, one of the highest quality meats in not only Japan but all around the world, is well-known for the way they raise and screen cows for the superb meats. Therefore, the redeeming features of consuming foods that are produced abroad are undeniable. While the reasons for consumers to favor exotic products are widely acknowledged, there are still several recommended techniques to help local brands advance their expenditure. From my perspective, brands should build a specific target audience and catch the psychology of customers to gain the recognition as well as consumers’ trust. For example, TH True Milk, a Vietnamese milk brand, has a decent reputation for high-quality milk which is aimed at consumers who are fond of fresh products from nature, come from well-off families and have a special attention to health. As a result, applying these methods possibly can increase the demand for locally-manufactured food. In conclusion, this phenomenon has happened for some practical reasons and it can conceivably be tackled by the solutions suggested above.