In the United Kingdom, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family

In Britain, when a person gets old, they would be taken to retirement homes where an attendant can take care of them and most times the government are responsible for the bill. Some people believe that the family should pay for this care in nursing homes. However, I argue that the authorities are in the best position to fund this facilities because of those who have no offspring or relatives to pay and for those who are poor. The government should take responsibility for the cost because some elderly persons have no child or family member to pay for the home. Various factors such as death, fertility issues and being unmarried could be the reason why this elders have no children or close relations. For instance if the governing body are in control of this homes, they would not be worried about how they would survive at that age. In addition, there are the unaffluent who are unable to fend for themselves. Most times this elderly homes charge an enormous amount of money for their welfare. For this reason, it would be difficult for poor families to take up this responsibility. Furthermore, this would ease the burden of caring for their elderly parents as they would not be perturbed about the funding since the government are in control. For example, a newspaper article stated that barely one third of the britains can feed their immediate family due to high taxes on their wages. In conclusion, although some families can bear the expense of sustaining their older ones in this homes, those who are childless and pauperized should be considered. Therefore, the authorities are in the best position to handle the bill as this would bring fairness.