In many countries today, crime novels and TV crimes drams are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV show are popular? What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

Based on recent reports from the art and entertainment industries, it is apparent that crime-related books and TV shows are growing in popularity. There can be many explanations on why they are so popular, and I will also give my opinion regarding it in this essay. One of the major points that draw the population’s attention to crime stories is that most of them have a phenomenon called “plot twist”, which is a surprise effect that causes viewers to experience it at the end of the story. This phenomenon introduces a story at the beginning and keeps it relevant until the very end and suddenly ends the story with a completely different outcome. This effect makes people interested in this kind of genre and with a word of mouth, it grows in popularity. Another important factor is that dramas like this are very much out of the ordinary in regard to people's day-to-day lives, and because of that, individuals find them interesting. For example, a person might find a TV show interesting that has all sorts of criminal activities, like drugs or murder because he/she hasn’t actually experienced any of it in real life. although some individuals believe that these kinds of genres have a negative effect on viewers, I feel that crime fiction dramas are one of the largest parts of the entertainment industry, and it does not make the audience violent or push them to commit such criminal acts in real life. To conclude, I believe that an out-of-the-ordinary plot and its unpredictability are the main motives why those genres are preferred by the majority of people.