Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugar products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Every day mass production provides us with a variety of unhealthy edible choices, which cause several health issues that cost so much money and effort to be healed. I strongly agree with the notion, that edible outcomes containing added sugar should be charged for extra money, for two main reasons that will be discussed in this essay. One reason why these outputs should be more expensive is that they are tremendously bad for physical states. Sugar is addictive as science indicates, this is why sweet products are irresistible. So, the more you enjoy eating sweets the greater consumer you become. This situation can be seen these days when everyone asks for larger sizes of drinks and ice cream. Therefore, this addiction will lead to serious fitness problems like obesity which is highly prevalent on a global scale, which is significantly related to diabetes and both of which are dangerous chronic diseases and very costly to heal. Therefore, a solid solution is urgently needed, and nothing is more powerful than taxation. Furthermore, another reason to charge extra is people have to be strongly discouraged. Most social psychologists agree that using financial methods can develop positive behaviour, especially at the beginning, then people will pass this on. For example, here in Saudi Arabia, the taxes on drinks containing added sugar have been applied for three years now and the early results are promising. The sugar taxes can effectively reduce consumption; because the higher the product costs the fewer customers will buy. This will make buyers rethink their shopping choices especially when thinking about purchasing unnecessary goods like highly sweeten ones. Although some individuals might find that a sort of limitation on freedom, it is sincerely to their benefit. In conclusion, with all the knowledge of the dangers of sugary items on well-being, I believe that an effective solution like taxation should be applied in order to prevent chronic diseases and help people to maintain a healthier lifestyle.