Some people think that secondary school children should study international news as one of the school subjects. Other people think that it is a waste of valuable school time. What do you think? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Awareness of local and global issues is definitely important for all of us. Some are of the opinion that students must learn about them as a part of their curriculum. However, I agree with those who believe that it is a waste of precious school time. In the following paragraphs, I shall put forth my arguments to support my views. One of the main reasons why some people opine that institutes must include international news as one of the school subjects is that it will incorporate knowledge about the current affairs. In this way, they will not only learn about the domestic and local problems, but also find ways to resolve them. For example, if the political science students learn about political issues of their country, they will be able to relate it to the books containing knowledge about it. In this way, they can find a variety of solutions to solve them which will help them in their career. In addition, it will help those students who want to go abroad for further studies to learn about the cultures of other countries as well. Thus, it is essential for academia to include global news in their syllabus. However, some individuals believe that it is a total waste of time for children to get an education about international disputes. One of the major reasons is that they are already burdened with other subjects namely, mathematics, science and a variety of other disciplines. They must concentrate on these particular areas to become experts in them. In addition, the inclusion of this discipline will only help those students who are studying this specific area like the faculty of environmental and political sciences. Therefore, it is not worthy at all to make it essential for institutes to involve reading newspapers as the subject. To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that, although many hold the view that it is good for youngsters to know about world issues through the newspaper in curriculum, they can learn by themselves through various other mediums so there is no need to include them in academics.