In some cities, there are few controls on the design and construction of homes and other buildings, and owners can decide on the style of their houses. Do the advantages of this outweigh the drawbacks?

Several individuals are of the thought that art is an important course for students whereas some see it as wasting time. I, however, think it is essential for learners to do art. The essay below will discuss both views at length. First and foremost, art as a subject helps students to be creative and embrace their surroundings through painting and drawing. Moreso, there are many successful artists nowadays. For example, in South Africa, there is a known artist by the name 'Skhumba' whose paintings have drawn a lot of attention. He started by painting pictures of his friends but today he paints celebrities and government officials. For this reason, I think art should be considered an important lesson because some people make a living out of this skill. On the other hand, other individuals think that doing a craft is unimportant because students are forced to do it and that may lead to poor performance on the subject. I, however, think this point is invalid because students have the right to choose practical subjects they prefer. For instance, when I began secondary school, no one forced me to do fashion and fabrics because I had chosen it. In a case where learners are told to do subjects they do not like, parents should intervene because this may affect the performance of the child. In conclusion, I support the view that art is an essential subject because a lot of people have achieved a lot through painting. However, others think doing this course is a waste of time because some students do it without their consent of which I disagree. This and other views have been discussed in the essay above.