You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic. Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Many people tend to purchase various goods online nowadays, namely books, groceries, air tickets, electronics, baby diapers or even fresh food at restaurants. In fact, this kind of modern lifestyle is usually implemented by youngsters because they are aware of internet use. They believe that the internet can be used to assist us in living in an easier way, so we have to consider the advantages of online shopping. However, shopping online may also have disadvantages. Thus, this essay will try to elaborate on the reasons for both positive and negative impacts of online shopping. Initially, online shopping is a good way to save time. It means that we do not need to go to Mall or supermarket for purchasing goods. We only can sit at home, choose the products, then check out the goods online without spending our energy and costs to go outside. They frequently offer free delivery for spending the minimum amount of money. In addition, we also may compare the different quality of the products and the price as well, so we have to shop wisely. Another reason is that we may also get extra discounts for several products in the online marketplace if becoming loyal customers. For example, if you want to buy clothes in the marketplace, you may be rewarded a special price at Shopee for Rp 259.000, and you may also get an extra 10 per cent if you are a gold member. However, if we buy the clothes at Mall, you have to pay Rp 359.000 due to the tax. Meanwhile, as a customer we may also pay attention to the negative impact of shopping online. Despite its easiness and simplicity, there are several issues which may be disadvantageous for us. The first one is the scam. Costumers should be more careful of online scamming, especially for those who use a credit card due to the fact that some scammers deliberately take their money without permission. Consequently, the customers will be broken. Additionally, some online shops give false promotions to their products, so they increase the price first and then give discounts to the buyers. In conclusion, shopping online is helpful to save our money and time, however, we have to be careful about online scamming and false prices by the sellers. In my opinion, it is a good way to shop online for getting special prices and offers, however, we have to be aware of possible threats that may be harmful to us.