Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugar products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Admittedly, people who consume more high levels of sugar food and drink products will lead to many health issues. Some believe that we could discourage people to buy these products by increasing their price. I disagree that it would help to resolve the matter. In this essay, I will discuss my viewpoints. Firstly, the increase in the price of sugary food would not significantly decrease the number of consumers. If the products are still affordable, people would like to remain their eating habits. For instance, Hong Kong rose the tobacco tax greatly in 2009, however, the number of smokers was just slightly decreased. In other words, the effect of an increase in the price of a product does not have a dramatic effect on consumer behaviour. More importantly, other than eating too much sugary food, there are several factors that affect citizens’ health status. At first, modern people who live a sedentary lifestyle is the major factor. In our daily life, we work more than eight hours in front of computers. After work, we spend our leisure time watching TV or movie for hours. We spend a lot of time sitting. Furthermore, due to the fast living pace, people seldom have any time and feel fatigued after work. As a consequence, they might not have the motivation to do exercise. This kind of lifestyle is detrimental to people ’s physical well-being. Accompany with the consumption of sugary food, people lead to obesity and cause health problems. In conclusion, the health issues of the public are caused by different factors, such as lifestyle, doing exercise regularly and balanced diet. Therefore, I believe that the consumption of sugary is only one of the factors for the matter and the increase in the price could not resolve the problem.