In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

In many countries, some people think the government should save a large sum of budget on establishing new railway lines for high-speed trains between cities, whereas another group of people believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. The essay will discuss both sides of view and summarize my own opinion. There are some advantages of spending large sums of money on establishing new railway lines or very fast trains between cities. On one hand, this could shorten the time on travelling between cities especially benefits those group of people who travels a lot for business and foreigners. For instance, the Taiwan government spent 120 billion to build high-speed metro at Taoyuan airport. It connects the biggest airport in Taiwan with the Taipei metro system which has significantly simplified transportation than before. Moreover, because it's connecting with the metro system, travellers and foreigners can reach their destination easily no matter to Taipei, New Taipei or other cities in Taiwan. Furthermore, the carrying capacity of the high-speed rail is three-time bigger than the existing public transport, thus, it could improve the traffic problems during peak times. Besides, public transport such as buses, metro and train can only benefit to the specific area of people. Establishing new railway lines can decrease the gap between urban and rural areas, people who live in rural areas can travel to big cities easier for medical care, education and job opportunities with these constructions. To conclude, there are many advantages to constructing new railways lines than improving existing public transport. I think the government should spend more budget on it to benefit the majority group of people.